Uncategorized

What Do You Say On A Day Like Today?

Today is an emotional day.  Waking up this morning and hearing the news about the horrific attack on Manchester has given me, and I sure many, many others, a heavy heart.

The coward behind this attack targeted children and young adults, innocents starting to discover the world, and our future generation. 22 lives taken, and many more terribly hurt. Even those physically unhurt will be left with the emotional scars of what they saw during the attack – something a child should never have to see.

It makes me so sad, and question what kind of life are we building for our children? It frightens me that someday my daughter will be grown up in this world, and I won’t be there to protect her.

However, in the wake of this awful incident, there are stories.  Stories of love, of compassion.  People opening their doors to strangers to give them safe haven. Drivers picking up stranded and lost people and taking them to a safer place.

And that is what I will focus on.

I read a beautiful quote this morning, by Fred Rogers….

When i was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers, you will always find people who are helping”

They can attack us. They can destroy lives. But they will never take our spirit and our drive to carry on.

They will never win.

#westandtogether

Talk to me!

