Uncategorized

2 Week Lunchbox Challenge – Week 1 Update

A working week has been and gone, and so far so good.  I have tried a variety of different options, and they were all surprisingly easy to make – critical at the end of a working day, as the last thing I want to do when I get home in the evening is spend ages preparing a meal for the next day.

My favourite by far has to be the Mason Jar noodles – and there is so much flexibility on what you can put into them each day.

 

Here is my menu for week 1:

Day 1 – Mason Jar noodles. Noodles, stir fry vegetables, chicken and a soy, peanut and chilli sauce. Add boiling water, stir and stand for a few minutes, then dig in! Delicious!

 

Day 2 – Tomato couscous with feta.  The couscous was made with some chicken stock, then I pan fried some fresh chopped tomatoes until they were soft then added to the couscous.  Once cold, i crumbled some feta on top.  Pretty tasty, and I had some vegetable sticks on the side to help me feel more virtuous (and to balance out the bacon roll I had for breakfast on Fry up Friday in the office – ooops!). The couscous would be better with some additional vegetables or some chicken – i’ll try an adapted version during week 2.

 

Day 3 and 4 – Squash and Spinach salad.  one of my favourite winter salads, and it is delicious warm or cold.  Dice up and roast a butternut squash (or any pumpkin) in the oven until soft and browned. (I sprinkle a little olive oil, paprika and chipotle spice onto mine).  Once cold, take a handful of spinach leaves, add a handful of the squash, some feta cheese and some pine nuts.  Use a little of the oil from the roasted squash as a dressing – yum!

 

Day 5 – Boo, service station food!  Had an unplanned business trip to Belgium, so lunch was on the run whilst driving home.  I cannot understand why mayonnaise is necessary in a ham and cheese baguette #rank.

 

I’m very much looking forward to tucking into some more homemade yummy treats next week!

 

Talk to me!

