Recipes · Uncategorized

2 Week Lunchbox Challenge!

After years (and years and years) of eating the same things at lunchtime at work,  I am in desperate need of some inspiration for something tasty, healthy and interesting!

So I am setting myself a challenge to find a new lunchbox meal every day for two weeks.

I am limited on what I can take – my office only has a small fridge for everyone to share so space is at a premium, and there is no opportunity to reheat food in a microwave (Health and Safety apparently!), so it needs to be something I can eat cold or heat with only boiling water..

My first port of call is Pinterest (obvs), and I have found plenty of boards from other winners with some great ideas – mostly varying types of salad, not too interesting…….but I did find these delicious sounding Mason Jar Noodle recipes, so this is what I am going to try tomorrow.

The idea is that you prepare your noodles, add some protein, then add a sauce paste and some vegetables.  Put them all into a Mason Jar, then to eat, just pour on boiling water, stir then leave to stand to warm through the ingredients.

I don’t have any empty Mason Jars, so my jar is an old soup pot (not so pretty but still perfectly functional!).  I made some noodles and added some leftover chicken from my dinner this evening, for my sauce I didn’t have any miso left which is what was recommended in the recipe, so I have made a sauce from Peanut butter, soy sauce, chilli flakes and salt free chicken stock.

Tomorrow, I am thinking about some kind of couscous – i’ll keep you posted!

Here is my Pinterest Board if anyone is interested – please feel free to share your suggestions in the comments below….I’d love to hear tried and tested recipes.

Talk to me!

