Arts and Crafts

A Garden Party

Way back in July, it was my Father-in-law’s 70th birthday.  Although he wasn’t keen to celebrate such a monumentous occasion (He still thinks he is 25!), we couldn’t let it go unnoticed, so we arranged a quiet get together for the family at our house.

As the weather was gorgeous, we had a BBQ in the garden. Ben is a great BBQ chef (its the only time he cooks!), but as usual for BBQ’s, I prepared everything and he cooked it on the grill and took all the credit! Does this happen to anyone else? Just me?

Together with Miss D we made some bunting to hand between the trees, very simply we cut some large triangles of stiff paper, which Miss D carefully decorated with her paints.  Once dry, we stuck the flags to a long piece of ribbon – on close inspection it was very rough and ready, but from a distance it looked great!

For the first time ever, I also attempted to fondant ice a cake.  For years I have been decorating with buttercream, so I thought it was about time to challenge myself and try something new.

Using food colouring paste to dye white fondant that I already had at home, and a selection of great Pinterest tutorials, I made a golf themed lemon sponge cake, complete with golfer.

13732318_1660208437632188_888729977_n

Ok, the golfer seemed to shrink in size the longer he was stood up, and he was a bit crooked, but I was pretty happy with the end result!

In any event, the FIL was very happy with it, and had a lovely day celebrating.  I don’t think he is so happy with our choice of birthday present though, we bought him a skydive!

 

 

Talk to me!

